Uncategorized

Book Tour/Review: Being Human by Natalie Read

Book Details

Format: Paperback, 246 pages

Publication: September 23, 2019 by IAS Publishing

Synopsis: Would you like more happiness, self-confidence or resilience?

• Would you like to improve your relationships?

• Would you like to manage mental health symptoms or prevent them from arising?

If the answer is yes to any of these questions, this book could help you. Being Human offers a journey of self-discovery to help you find self-acceptance and self-love through a blend of psychology with a mind, body, spirit approach in a language that will appeal to any belief system.

Being Human is written from the heart with a positive and compassionate message, encouraging awareness, responsibility and self-empowerment. It’s full of examples, explanations, exercises and also provides free access to 12 accompanying meditations written to support the material in this book.

Natalie Read has worked at the heart of mental health as a Student Counsellor at a UK University for over 12 years. This book draws on both her counselling expertise and her passionate quest to find peace and happiness through 25 years of self and spiritual development.

My Thoughts

Rating: ★★★★☆

I’ve been on a kick of self-help books for mental health, so I was excited when LitPR reached out to me on Twitter about this book tour. This book is targeted more toward young adults, as well, so it was more helpful to me than some of the others that I’ve read. However, I think it would be just as helpful to adults as well!

I think my favorite thing about this book is how clear the writing was. Read used terms that were easy to understand rather than complicated terms that would’ve been lost on me. The exercises included were very helpful, and I can see myself referring to this book a lot in the future!

Disclaimer: I was provided a complimentary copy via LitPR in exchange for an honest review.

Buy the Book

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Meet the Author

An image posted by the author.

Natalie Read is a BACP accredited counsellor with experience in private practice and as a University student counsellor. Prior to this, Natalie spent over a decade in the corporate world gaining experience in organisational psychology, change management, leadership, coaching and executive coaching.

Leave a comment