5 Stars

Review: We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund

Title: We Speak in Storms

Author: Natalie Lund

Publisher: Philomel Books

Pages: 464

Publication Date: September 3, 2019

◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇

Goodreads Synopsis: A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

It’s been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens — a whole generation of Mercerites — dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken.

For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens’ paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most. Both the living and the dead have secrets and unresolved problems, but they may be able to find peace and move forward–if only they work together.

A beautifully told, haunting yet hopeful novel about pushing past the pain, facing the world, and finding yourself.

◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇

My Thoughts: I can confidently say that this is the best book I’ve read in the past couple of years. Natalie Lund did a wonderful job of bringing the characters to life, along with the story itself. When I grabbed this book, I wasn’t really that excited for it, seeing as it didn’t sound nor look like any book I’ve ever read and enjoyed. However, from the very first page, I couldn’t put it down.

The way Lund worked with grief and bullying was phenomenal. The entire plot stayed steady, not rushing nor being drawn out. My only issue with the book was Callie. Although I now understand why she acted the way she did with her mother while she was dying, when I was reading the book it stressed me out. Having lost my own mother without warning or time to prepare, I hated the way she kept shying away from her mother, avoiding her as often as possible. Of course, I wasn’t thinking about what it would be like to watch your mother slowly dying, but the only thing I could focus on while reading was her behavior. When I finished the book, after thinking about it, I did understand.

Other than that, I loved the characters – the ones that were meant to be loved, of course. I’ve recommended this book to anyone who’s asked for a book to read, and I’ll continue doing so.

Rating: ★★★★★

◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇◆◇

Want to read this book? You can get it from Amazon in the following formats:

Kindle | Audible | Hardcover

Want to know more about the author? Follow her here:

Goodreads | Website | Instagram | Twitter

One thought on “Review: We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s